Let’s Play: Catch Up!

Day 0 and Day 1

Hello again! I’ve finally gotten access to the computer lab at King’s College in London. I didn’t want to deal with the hassle of flying with a laptop, and thus have waited for UK computers. (Side note: The keyboards are slightly different…) Here’s where I’m staying:

building
Waterloo campus of King’s College (via King’s College)

Let’s recap a little, shall we?

Day 0: Thursday, June 25, 2015
I left for Chicago O’Hare, travelled around the airport for a bit trying to find where I was supposed to go, passed through security, and arrived at my terminal three hours before the flight. Great! I got to read. Unfortunately, I chose a book called What We See When We Read by Peter Mendelsund.

Book cover
What We See When We Read by Peter Mendelsund (via Amazon)

It’s 419 pages, but full of wonderful images and varying styles of text. It’s just not the novel that I was expecting me to last the entirety of the trip. The flight ended up leaving two hours late due to maintenance and I began to worry if the British Studies Program bus would leave before I had a chance to arrive. Thankfully they didn’t!

Day 1: Friday, June 26, 2015
That evening after arriving at the dorms picture above we had group orientation. The Library Information Science class is the only class of graduate students participating in the BSP program! We up the average age a little. 😉 Our class professors, Dr. Teresa Welsh and Dr. Matthew Griffis, toured us around the neighborhood in order to get us acclimated. We walked along the South Bank of the Thames and took a group photo.

group photo
LIS class photo on the Thames (via T. Welsh)

Yay, jetlag! Our professors even treated us to dinner at Gourmet Pizza. It was wonderful after such a long day.

I purchased my Oyster card that night too. It was a little expensive, but I got the unlimited 1-month deal. It allows me to move about Zones 1 and 2 (downtown London) via the Underground or buses without having to worry about if I have enough money loaded on my card. Fares change depending on the time of day and the length of distance covered. It was easier for me to have peace of mind and not worry about it! Now I can cruise through the city without hassle!

On to Day 2!

Leave a Reply

