Day 16: Study, study, study (Pub? Pub? Pub?)

Saturday, July 11, 2015
Hello, again.

Today was a day of little excitement for me personally. I spent a good majority of the time reading articles, writing, and researching information on the interwebs. As exciting as that sounds, I don’t have many photos to provide you.

Aisle at the London Library (via K. Emmons)
Aisle at the London Library (via K. Emmons)

I did get the chance to actually go out in the evening – have a few drinks and whatnot… Don’t worry! I remained responsible the entire time. 🙂

Pub names and their signs have been of particular interest to me since we have nothing similar in the States. Sure we have fun bar names, but pubs here have signs. Signs that harken back to an earlier time – at least to me. I’ve mentioned to a few classmates the assignment in my Rare Books Reference class where I had to look up printer’s signs. This is sort of similar. Why, just around the corner from the dorms is the White Hart.

(via The White Hart website)
(via The White Hart website)

Down the street is the Thirsty Bear.

@TheThirstyBear
@TheThirstyBear

They’re cute*. I’ll keep my eye out for more!
(*Obviously “cute” is the adjective used when referring to a pub…)

I even got the chance to visit Waterloo Bridge at night in order to see the lights on the Thames…

Looking towards the British Film Institute area towards Blackfriars Bridge (via K. Emmons)
Looking towards the British Film Institute area towards Blackfriars Bridge (via K. Emmons)
The London Eye and Big Ben in the distance (via K. Emmons)
The London Eye and Big Ben in the distance (via K. Emmons)

I acknowledge I’m not the best photographer, but isn’t it pretty? Also… it was misting*, which could also cause the inadequate photos.
(*I think they call it rain, but it was more like an over abundance of moisture in the air…)

On to Day 17!

One thought on “Day 16: Study, study, study (Pub? Pub? Pub?)

Leave a Reply

