Day 18: A traveling we go… to Scotland!

Monday, July 13, 2015
Big driving day.
No, I wasn’t driving… 🙂

As a class we were up and at ’em at 7:30am in order to check out of our living quarters at Stamford Street apartments in Lambeth. We were on busses and rolling towards Scotland by 8am!

It’s a relatively long drive (411 miles according to Google Maps), but nothing I can’t handle! I did do drum corps… and have a father who likes to drive for 12 hours at a time. 🙂

Drum corps did teach me a few things that might have been helpful to the other students traveling with me on the coaches:

1) Don’t bring more baggage than you can carry in a single trip.
2) People getting off the bus trump those getting on the bus.
3) It’s a polite courtesy to not use the bus toilet unless it’s a DIRE emergency. Drinking while on the bus is not an excuse. (Many in drum corps used a bottle rather than stinking up the on-board lavatory, but that space was basically our home for two months.)

At the same time – a truck stop is a truck stop in any country.

Rest stop between London and Edinburgh (via K. Emmons)
Rest stop between London and Edinburgh (via K. Emmons)

After roughly 8 hours driving and an hour of rest, we made it to Scotland! As soon as we crossed over the border I felt different (probably my imagination). The air felt fresher. The land was greener. The hills were sweeter. The sheep were everywhere. I adored Scotland from the moment our wheels crossed the border.

Arthur's Seat from dormitory window (via K. Emmons)
Arthur’s Seat from dormitory window (via K. Emmons)

Unfortunately, since the day was mostly driving I did not take many photos. Several of us found our way to the Royal Mile in Edinburgh and had some dinner – authentic Scottish food – before returning to the dorms for bed. (Side note: As I was falling asleep, lost in that state between waking and slumber, I imagined that Scottish faeries were playing tricks with my mind. Silly, fantastical… but fun, nonetheless!)

I will mention the book I began reading Sunday night and finished in bed in Scotland Monday night: Labyrinth by Kate Mosse.

(via Amazon.com)
(via Amazon.com)

On to Day 19!

One thought on “Day 18: A traveling we go… to Scotland!

Leave a Reply

