Day 29: Borough, Books, and Pan!

Friday, July 24, 2015
An independent study day!!
And I’m working on blog posts and sending emails.

I did have a couple of fun things planned for today though. 🙂

Firstly, I visited Borough Market. It’s the oldest open air fruit and veg markets in London and still operates Wednesday through Saturday.

Sign! (via boroughmarket.org.uk)
Sign! (via boroughmarket.org.uk)

I visited on a Friday afternoon in the rain (thankfully it’s partially covered) and the aisles still looked like this:

More like
More like “Busy Market” (via K. Emmons)

It’s busy for a good reason though! Everything… and I truly mean everything… looked and smelled delicious. Check out the Food… page to see my venison burger.

Fruitz for Dayz (via K. Emmons)
Fruitz for Dayz (via K. Emmons)

That’s only a picture of fruit! There were stalls for cheese, meat (dried and fresh), wine, oil, honey, bread, desserts… the list goes on!

I’m happy and sad that I only found this the last week before I return to the states. I can see why Londoners purchase food for only a few days at a time. The lack of preservatives (*cough* unlike America) makes  HUGE difference. I could have easily spent waaaay more than I did. My only reservations were living in a dorm room without pots and kitchen utensils.

Later in the afternoon I visited Charing Cross Road and Cecil Court where the wonderful world of old and rare books lives. Seriously, though, there are tons of little book shops in this area with some great things for cheap… or expensive.

Cecil Court... in the rain! (via K. Emmons)
Cecil Court… in the rain! (via K. Emmons)

I had to find something… much to my luggage’s horror… and I found a signed, US first edition copy of The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova. I read it several years ago after picking up a copy at a Half Price Books outlet store. Now I have a first edition! And signed!

Book by Elizabeth Kostova (via Wikipedia)
Book by Elizabeth Kostova (via Wikipedia)

I like signed books… I have a couple at home. 🙂

Royal Opera House tickets and a glass of wine (via K. Emmons)
Royal Opera House tickets and a glass of wine (via K. Emmons)

Lastly, I visited the Royal Opera House to see the Welsh National Opera perform Peter Pan. Peter Pan was written by J. M. Barrie, a Scottish author, originally as a play. The performance was directed by Keith Wagner and composed by Richard Ayres with libretto by Lavinia Greenlaw.

Iestyn Morris, Rebecca Bottone, Marie Arnet, and Nicholas Sharratt in Keith Warner's production of Peter Pan (C) WNO. Photograph by Clive Barda, 2015 (via roh.org.uk)
Iestyn Morris, Rebecca Bottone, Marie Arnet, and Nicholas Sharratt in Keith Warner’s production of Peter Pan (C) WNO. Photograph by Clive Barda, 2015 (via roh.org.uk)

The production was much darker than I anticipated. The music was very dissonant with many clashing chords; the words sung didn’t rhyme like expected. Peter was sung in falcetto by a man, unlike the musical interpretations where a woman performs the part. Mr. Darling was Captain Hook and Mrs. Darling was Tiger Lily as expected. There were many grownup themes to the opera, which was wonderful to think about. It was commissioned as a part of the Welsh National Opera’s “Terrible Innocence” season… and I think that feeling was carried out perfectly.

My view from Amphitheatre B 48 (via K. Emmons)
My view from Amphitheatre Left B 48 (via K. Emmons)

Go support your local arts! It doesn’t have to be a fancy national opera house… go see the local high school drama or the community theatre. I think that the arts enhance life and give a new perspective on old stories.

On to Day 30!

2 thoughts on “Day 29: Borough, Books, and Pan!

Leave a Reply

