Internship – Week 3

As part of the coursework, interns have to keep a weekly journal of our experiences. Blog entries are acceptable and I thought this would be a great way to keep everyone updated on my library activities at the Lilly Library!

September 7 – September 12

Wednesday, September 9th (3 hours):
I spent a very large amount of time working on potential posts for the Lilly Library blog. I want to do a post for “Hobbit Day,” which celebrates Bilbo and Frodo Baggins’ fictional birthday. The Lilly Library has some great Tolkien materials and there’s some really interesting information to say. Such as, where the origin of “hobbit” came from or the differences between the first British edition and first American editions (plural) of The Hobbit. Hopefully I’ll have that approved next week and then posted the following week. I’ll link that information to this post when completed! Another potential blog post is for ALA’s Banned Book week at the end of them month. The Lilly has a lot of materials that have been challenged for one reason or another and it would be nice to highlight a few.

J. R. R. Tolkien's impression of the literary character Bilbo Baggins, as seen in Tolkien's illustration of Bag End. Drawn by Tolkien for inclusion in illustrated editions of his 1937 novel The Hobbit. (source)
J. R. R. Tolkien’s impression of the literary character Bilbo Baggins, as seen in Tolkien’s illustration of Bag End. Drawn by Tolkien for inclusion in illustrated editions of his 1937 novel The Hobbit. (source)

Friday, September 11th (4 hours):
I started out by shelving manuscripts since they were beginning to pile up a bit. It’s nice being able to return a folder or box to it’s home. Spaces might be a little cramped between shelving units, but I’m starting to learn where the bigger collections live! I then spent more time writing the blog posts. Also, I started compiling a calendar of materials that could be featured when the Lilly’s Twitter page get’s up and running. I’ll have more information for you when that gets started! Yay, social media!

Saturday, September 12th (4 hours):
Today was my first weekend shift – it was voluntary, though. There was a freshmen seminar class from a visiting university and a booksitter was needed. Their class was on early book history (pre-1450), so group visited the Lilly in order to see the primary materials. I’ll admit that I didn’t know much about some of the things that I laid out and watched over… I’ve only taken the book history class post-1450 (that’s generally the date that we associate with printed materials). They started out looking at some very early materials: cuneiform tablets (2000 b.c.), a Roman tombstone, papyri fragments, and an early Qur’an. The next set of materials were early East Asian writings; and the last set were Books of Hours from the 15th Century and a chained book from the 12th Century. I enjoyed hearing more information about these early materials since I know little about them.

Leave a Reply

